Thank you for your interest in Drivers' Education here in USD 320!
Here is some important information!
There is a $250 fee for the course. This fee is due in total by May 1st. THE FEE MUST BE PAID IN THE WAMEGO HIGH SCHOOL OFFICE. Check payable to Wamego High School.
ENROLLMENT ONLINE SIGN-UP FORM: https://docs.google.com/forms/d/e/1FAIpQLSd9i5tr-r751BeQx_rNhPXJA9cZw2hXozN-eUaV04apVzDDSw/viewform
We will be capping the number of students who can take the course at 50. Please sign up early to insure your spot in the course.
All students signed up for Drivers' Education and their parents/guardians must attend a mandatory Drivers' Education Meeting on a date to be determined for 2018. If you are unable to attend, please contact Mr. Weber at Wamego High School to arrange an individual meeting to receive the information presented.
ONLINE PORTION OF COURSE
This year, the classroom (written instruction and assessment) portion of the Drivers' Education will be completed online. We will set up all students with their log-in information at the mandatory meeting. Technological requirements to be able to take the course online will be discussed at that meeting. The online portion must be completed by the date of the final (date to be determined.)
MANDATORY IN-PERSON FINAL
Although the instruction and assessment in the course takes place online, the final exam for the written portion of Driver's Education must be completed in-person and online at Wamego High School as proctored by the class instructors on the final date (to be determined.) Students unable to attend the scheduled final must contact the instructors to make arrangements to take the final at another date before June 1st.
SCHEDULING OF DRIVING
Students will be asked to leave one week of their summer available for the driving portion of the class. The student will be required to drive or actively observe other student drivers for 3-4 hours each day during that week. We will do our best to schedule around the student's commitments during the summer. Please come to the mandatory meeting with 2-3 different weeks that may work for the student.
All students residing in USD #320 and are 14 years old before May 1st will be eligible to enroll.
STUDENT TIME REQUIREMENTS
All students will participate in both class final exam and supervised behind-the-wheel driving instruction until all skills have been mastered. The exact times for class and driving will be determined after enrollment is complete.
All make-up time and work will be coordinated by the instructor and must be completed by the last scheduled day of class for each session.
No student will be eligible for credit unless that student successfully completes each instructional (classroom and behind the wheel) module at the stated criteria. Each student enrolled will receive a pass/fail grade. Both portions, classroom and behind the wheel, must be passed for the student to receive credit for the course.
Curriculum based on the Kansas Driving Handbook.
Please begin reviewing this handbook as it the basis for the KS Drivers’ Examination
Special needs students requirements will be met in the least restrictive manner in the classroom and any special adaptations necessary in the Driver's Education vehicle.
KS GDL LAW
Here is a link to a document explaining Kansas's Graduated Drivers' License Regulations. http://www.kansasgdl.org/download/GDL-Law-Card.pdf
USD 320 Drivers' Education Coordinator