

USD 320 - Wamego Public Schools Board of Education

1008 8th St. Wamego, KS 66547 www.usd320.com Phone: (785) 456-7643 Fax: (785) 456-8125

Michele Johnson District 1	Ryan Hargitt District 2	Nicolette Zeigler District 3	
Cory Meyer District 4	Rob Pettay District 5	Sheryl Wohler District 6	
Bruce Coleman At-Large	Tim Winter Superintendent	Kathryn Mayfield Clerk of the Board	
			-

BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING MINUTES

Wamego Public Schools

Monday, May 14, 2018, 7:00 p.m.

1. ROLL CALL (7:00 PM)

President Ryan Hargitt called the regular meeting of the USD 320 Board of Education to order at 7:00 p.m., Monday, May 14, 2018 at the USD 320 Professional Learning Center. Members of the board present were Bruce Coleman, Ryan Hargitt, Michele Johnson, Cory Meyer, Rob Pettay, Sheryl Wohler, and Nicolette Zeigler.

Also in attendance were Superintendent Tim Winter, Clerk Kathryn Mayfield, Special Services Director Chris Cezar, Director of Curriculum Dr. Mary Kaye Siebert, Central Elementary Principal Teri Dow, West Principal Amy Flinn, Wamego Middle School Principal Vici Jennings, Wamego Middle School Assistant Principal Brian McIntosh, Wamego High School Principal Chad Brecheisen, Wamego High School Assistant Principal Dennis Charbonneau, Operations Director Larry Hannan, Technology Director Clint Heideman, and Food Service Director Laura Fails.

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The meeting began with the Pledge of Allegiance led by Rob Pettay.

3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA (7:01 PM)

Nicolette Zeigler made a motion to approve the agenda as presented. Rob Pettay seconded. Motion carried 7-0.

4. ITEMS FOR THE GOOD OF USD 320 (7:02 PM)

Board President Ryan Hargitt and Superintendent Tim Winter reviewed items submitted by the schools for BOE information. The board recognized the following:

- A. FCCLA State Awards & Nationals Qualifiers along with their sponsors Tammy Biswell and Jacquie Steinbacher.
- B. WMS Hall of Fame recipients.
- C. WHS Kansas Governor's Scholar Awardees: Noah Bailey, Alexander Vontz
- D. USD 320 teachers who completed KSU Leadership Academy—Molly Townsend, Rachel Buessing, and Phil Kline.
- F. USD 320 KTOY winners: Elementary-Rachel Buessing; Secondary-Suzanne Sprenkle
- G. Ross Conner-awarded the James Madison Fellowship Award

5. CONSENT AGENDA (7:30 PM)

Sheryl Wohler made a motion to approve the consent agenda as presented. Rob Pettay seconded. Motion carried 7-0. Items approved on the consent agenda were as follows:

- A. Approve of minutes of April 9 and April 26, 2018 Board of Education Meetings.
- B. Approve payment of April 2018 bills.
- C. Approve April 2018 Treasurer's and Fund Reports
- D. Approve building activity fund reports for April 2018.
- E. Approve journal entries and cash receipts for April 2018.
- F. Approve the May Personnel Report
- G. Adopt Agreement and Consultant Service Contract for KASB Legal Assistance Fund for 2018-2019 in the amount of \$2,100.00
- H. Approve KASB membership renewal and Season Pass training for 2018-2019 in the amount of \$12,543.45.
- I. Approve FFA trip request to Nationals

6. DISCUSSION OF ITEMS PULLED FROM CONSENT AGENDA

7. BOND CONSTRUCTION UPDATE—BBN/COONROD (7:31 PM)

Representatives from BBN and Coonrod presented an update on bond projects.

8. 6TH GRADE TRANSITION PRESENTATION (7:54 PM)

Counselors Robin Butler (West Elementary) and Jordan Dunn (WMS) presented information about the 6th Grade Transition Program.

9. ZERO HOUR WEIGHTS PROPOSAL (8:13 PM)

Brian McIntosh and Weston Moody (WHS) requested adding a zero-hour weights program to the schedule. Cost to the district would be approximately \$5,600/year. Bruce Coleman made a motion to approve the zero hour weights proposal as presented. Nicolette Zeigler seconded. Motion carried 7-0.

10. KINDERGARTEN IPAD REQUEST (8:33 PM)

Nicolette Zeigler made a motion to approve the Kindergarten iPad request as presented (120 iPads costing \$51,000). Rob Pettay seconded. Motion carried 7-0.

11. WTC PHONE SYSTEM APPROVAL (8:54 PM)

Representatives from WTC reviewed different phone system options to upgrade/replace the current phone system.

At 9:00 p.m., Nicolette Zeigler made a motion to extend the meeting up to 30 minutes. Bruce Coleman seconded. Motion carried 7-0.

No Action was taken on this item. The board will review the data and revisit this at the June meeting.

12. SRO AGREEMENT APPROVAL (9:24 PM)

Mr. Winter presented the final agreement with the City of Wamego for the addition of an SRO. Annual cost to the district would be approximately \$35-40K.

At 9:30 p.m., Nicolette Zeigler made a motion to extend the meeting up to 30 minutes. Bruce Coleman seconded. Motion carried 7-0.

Bruce Coleman made a motion to approve the SRO Agreement with the City of Wamego as presented. Cory Meyer seconded. Motion carried 7-0.

13. 2018-2019 LIABILITY/WORK COMP POLICY PACKAGE (9:37 PM)

Mr. Winter presented the new policy package. Bruce Coleman made a motion to approve the 2018-2019 Liability/Work Comp policy package as presented. Michele Johnson seconded. Motion carried 7-0.

14. EXECUTIVE SESSION (9:41 PM)

Cory Meyer made a motion to go into executive session to discuss proposals for increasing base pay rates for certified staff pursuant to the exception for employer-employee negotiations under KOMA, to invite the superintendent and SpEd Director Chris Cezar into executive session and to resume the open meeting in the board room at 9:59 p.m. Bruce Coleman seconded. Motion carried 7-0. Meeting was recessed at 9:42 p.m.

Rob Pettay left the meeting at 9:42 p.m.

The board returned to open session at 9:59 p.m.

15. ADJOURN MEETING (10:00 PM)

Sheryl Wohler made a motion to adjourn the meeting. Michele Johnson seconded. Motion carried 6-0. Meeting was adjourned at 10:00 p.m.

Clerk of the Board

Date