

USD 320 - Wamego Public Schools Board of Education

1008 8th St. Wamego, KS 66547 www.usd320.com

Nicolette Zeigler

District 3

Rob Pettay
District 5

District 2

Ryan Hargitt

Sheryl Wohler District 6

Phone: (785) 456-7643

Fax: (785) 456-8125

District 5

.

Bruce Coleman At-Large

Michele Johnson

District 1

District 4

Cory Meyer

Tim Winter Superintendent Kathryn Mayfield Clerk of the Board

BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING MINUTES

Wamego Public Schools April 9, 2018, 7:00 p.m.

1. ROLL CALL / PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

Vice-President Rob Pettay called the regular meeting of the USD 320 Board of Education to order at 7:00 p.m., Monday, April 9, 2018 at the USD 320 Professional Learning Center. Members of the board present were Bruce Coleman, Michele Johnson, Cory Meyer, Rob Pettay, Sheryl Wohler, and Nicolette Zeigler. Ryan Hargitt was not present.

Also in attendance were Superintendent Tim Winter, Clerk Kathryn Mayfield, Special Services Director Chris Cezar, Director of Curriculum Dr. Mary Kaye Siebert, Central Elementary Principal Teri Dow, West Principal Amy Flinn, Wamego Middle School Principal Vici Jennings, Wamego Middle School Assistant Principal Brian McIntosh, Wamego High School Principal Chad Brecheisen, Wamego High School Assistant Principal Dennis Charbonneau, Operations Director Larry Hannan, Technology Director Clint Heideman, and Food Service Director Laura Fails.

2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The meeting began with the Pledge of Allegiance led by Michele Johnson.

3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA (7:00 PM)

Nicolette Zeigler made a motion to approve the agenda as presented. Bruce Coleman seconded. Motion carried 6-0.

4. ITEMS FOR THE GOOD OF USD 320 (7:01 PM)

Board Vice-President Rob Pettay and Superintendent Tim Winter reviewed items submitted by the schools for BOE information. The Board further recognized:

- A. BOE members Cory Meyer and Sheryl Wohler for completing Boardsmanship training.
- B. WHS Boys State Basketball Team and their coaches Troy Hemphill, Travis Graber, and Dale Niedfeldt
- C. WMS "We Are The People" participants and their teacher Adam Topliff: Margaret Benson, Josephine Benson, Delaney Campbell, Caroline Donahue, Colin Donahue, Kyla McAdam, Bennett Schoenbeck, Jocelyn Stewart, Claire Wohler, and Katie Zachgo.
- D. State Science Fair Qualifiers and sponsors Dr. Allen & Deborah Sylvester:
 - Katie Zachgo & Claire Wohler—Music Influences Bacteria Growth (WMS)
 - Peyton Stewart & Bailey Thornton—Fly Spray: Home Made VS Store Brands (WMS)
 - Caleb Breymeyer—Changing the Color of Water (West Elementary)
 - Mark McKee—Salt & Ice Cream (West Elementary)
 - Addison Douglass—The Effects of Temperature on a Golf Balls Flight (West Elementary)
- E. CFL National Forensics qualifiers and their teacher Jennifer Topliff: Elise Artzer, Josie Fails, Blaine Hupe, Jay Olson, Emily Pachta, Carter Topliff, Anna Vanstory, Airon Oravas, Alexis Michaud.

5. CONSENT AGENDA (7:15 PM)

Michele Johnson made a motion to approve the consent agenda as presented. Bruce Coleman seconded. Motion carried 6-0. Items approved on the consent agenda were as follows:

- A. Approve of minutes of March 12 and March 26, 2018 Board of Education Meetings.
- B. Approve payment of March 2018 bills.C. Approve March 2018 Treasurer's and Fund Reports
- D. Approve building activity fund reports for March 2018.
- E. Approve journal entries and cash receipts for March 2018.
- F. Approve the April Personnel Report
- G. Accept a \$1,500 donation from Bart & Jenny Stewart for the Ball Park Project for Peer Chamber at WHS.
- H. Accept donations from Wamego Basketball Association in the amounts of \$250 per building (\$1,000.00) and \$1,000.00 for district wide use.
- I. Approve the trip request for the CFL National Forensics qualifiers to travel to Washington D.C. Memorial Day weekend 2018.
- J. Accept a donation from Pott County Economic Development in the amount of \$200 for the Youth Entrepreneurship Program.
- K. Approve travel request for FCCLA to travel to Atlanta, Georgia in 6/28-7/2/18 for National Leadership Conference and STAR events.
- L. Accept a donation from WABC in the amount of \$500.00 towards a new mural in the gym at WMS.

6. DISCUSSION OF ITEMS PULLED FROM CONSENT AGENDA

There were no items pulled from the consent agenda.

7. BOND CONSTRUCTION UPDATE (7:17 PM)

Mr. Winter provided an update on all bond projects.

8. WEST TECHNOLOGY PRESENTATION (7:38 PM)

West teachers Cathy Woodyard, Amy Benz, Haylee Haynes, Amber Solida, and Natalie Dobie presented how they are using the one to one technology in their classes.

9. KAGAN COACHING STIPEND (7:54 PM)

Sheryl Wohler made a motion to approve the Kagan Coaching Stipend in the amount of \$750 annually for each coach beginning in the 2018-2019 school year. Michele Johnson seconded. Motion carried 6-0.

10. KESA ONSITE VISIT UPDATE (8:09 PM)

Director of Instructional Services Mary Kaye Siebert and Superintendent Tim Winter briefed the board on the recent KESA onsite visit.

11. 18-19 TECH FEES (8:14 PM)

Cory Meyer made a motion to approve the new Technology fees as presented. Bruce Coleman seconded. Motion carried 6-0.

12. APPROVE 18-19 ENROLLMENT FEES (8:48 PM)

Michele Johnson made a motion to approve the 18-19 enrollment fees as presented. Nicolette Zeigler seconded. Motion carried 6-0.

13. BOE WHS HIGH SCHOOL GRADUATION ATTENDANCE (8:52 PM)

Mr. Winter reviewed WHS graduation schedule and encouraged BOE members to attend and assist in handing out diplomas.

At 8:54, Vice-President Rob Pettay called for a recess until 9:00 p.m. Meeting resumed at 9:00 p.m.

At 9:00 p.m., Nicolette Zeigler made a motion to extend the meeting for up to 30 minutes. Cory Meyer seconded. Motion carried 6-0.

14. EXECUTIVE SESSION (9:01 PM)

Sheryl Wohler made a motion to go into executive session to discuss a personnel performance matter pursuant to nonelected personnel exception under KOMA, to invite the superintendent into executive session, and to resume the open meeting in the board room at 9:10 p.m. Nicolette Zeigler seconded. Motion carried 6-0. Meeting was recessed at 9:01 p.m.

The board returned to open session at 9:10 p.m.

15. ADJOURN MEETING (9:14 PM)

There being no further business, Vice-President Rob Pettay adjourned the meeting at 9:14 p.m.

