

# USD 320 - Wamego Public Schools Board of Education

1008 8<sup>th</sup> St. Wamego, KS 66547 www.usd320.com Phone: (785) 456-7643 Fax: (785) 456-8125

Michele Johnson Ryan Hargitt Nicolette Zeigler

District 1 District 2 District 3

Cory MeyerRob PettaySheryl WohlerDistrict 4District 5District 6

Bruce Coleman Tim Winter Kathryn Mayfield

At-Large Superintendent Clerk of the Board

#### **BOARD OF EDUCATION MEETING MINUTES**

Wamego Public Schools Monday, March 12, 2018, 7:00 p.m.

#### 1. ROLL CALL (7:00 pm)

President Ryan Hargitt called the regular meeting of the USD 320 Board of Education to order at 7:00 p.m., Monday 12, 2018 at the USD 320 Professional Learning Center. Members of the board present were Bruce Coleman, Ryan Hargitt, Michele Johnson, Cory Meyer, Rob Pettay, Sheryl Wohler, and Nicolette Zeigler.

Also in attendance were Superintendent Tim Winter, Clerk Kathryn Mayfield, Special Services Director Chris Cezar, Director of Curriculum Dr. Mary Kaye Siebert, Central Elementary Principal Teri Dow, West Principal Amy Flinn, Wamego Middle School Principal Vici Jennings, Wamego High School Principal Chad Brecheisen, Wamego High School Assistant Principal Dennis Charbonneau and Director of Operations Larry Hannan.

#### 2. PLEDGE OF ALLEGIANCE

The meeting began with the Pledge of Allegiance led by Michele Johnson.

#### 3. APPROVAL OF AGENDA

Nicolette Zeigler made a motion to approve the agenda as presented. Bruce Coleman seconded. Motion carried 7-0.

# 4. ITEMS FOR THE GOOD OF USD 320 (7:01 PM)

- A. Board President Ryan Hargitt and Superintendent Tim Winter reviewed items submitted by the schools for BOE information. The Board further recognized the following:
- B. Recognize State Wrestling participants and their Coaches: Tylar Patrick, Adler Pearson, Dacotah Lee.

## C. Recognize Spelling & Geography Bee Winners:

Recognize MS Spelling Bee Champion and County Runner Up: Dagan Fultz

Recognize MS Spelling Bee Runner-Up: Emmy Ebert Recognize MS Geography Bee Champion: Noah King Recognize MS Geography Bee Runner-Up: Joey Shea Recognize WE Spelling Bee Champion: Gemma Hovind Recognize WE Spelling Bee Runner-Up: Dylan Zeit Recognize WE Geography Bee Champion: Mario Garcia Recognize WE Geography Bee Runner-Up: Dylan Zeit

## D. Recognize State Band and Honor Band Members and their instructor Chris Richmond:

**KMEA NC District Middle Level Honor Band**: Katie Zachgo, Jocelyn Stewart, Josephine Benson, Kelly Gartner, Claire Wohler, Aven Breault, Byron Paz-Torres, Sam Schermerhorn, Margaret Benson, Lily Moss, Brooklyn Cruz.

John Philip Sousa Honor Band: Pyper Paddock

**KMEA NC District High School Honor Band**: Michaela VanDuesen, Kylee Gardner, Nic Ginavan, Gwendolyn Schwein, Ellie Hildreth, Colton Gardner.

KMEA NC District High School Jazz Band: Blaine Hupe

KMEA State 1234A Honor Band: Michaela VanDuesen, Kylee Gardner, Nic Ginavan.

E. Recognize State Choir Members and their instructor Drew Horton:

NCKMEA District Choir: Lydia Spears, Dawson Stivers, Airon Oravas

Recognize 6th Grade North Central District Elementary Honor Choir and their instructor Drew Horton: Kylie Stivers, Caden Wilson, Leah Hildreth, Samantha Johnson, Hope Jacobs, Karlie Hamman, Sebastian Gilbert, Drew Pettay, Isaac Wilber.

F. Recognize 5th Grade KMEA North Central Elementary Choir Partcipants and their instructor Marcia Hermesch: Allison Brunenn, Samantha Budreau, Adelynn Couchman, Peyton Hardenburger, Zaylund Lee, Caiden Newell, Cadence Schley, Isabella Wilbur, and Dylan Zeit.

#### 5. CONSENT AGENDA (7:14 PM)

Bruce Coleman made a motion to approve the consent agenda as presented. Rob Pettay seconded. Motion carried 7-0. Items approved on the consent agenda were as follows:

- A. Approve of minutes of February 12 & 26, 2018 Board of Education Meetings.
- B. Approve payment of February 2018 bills.
- C. Approve February 2018 Treasurer's and Fund Reports
- D. Approve building activity fund reports for February 2018.
- E. Approve journal entries and cash receipts for February 2018.
- F. Approve the March Personnel Report
- G. Accept a \$1,200 donation from Caterpillar for full face/head shields for MS Woods.
- H. Accept a \$500 donation from Kelli Grieves for 18-19 PLC Speaker.
- I. Approve Trip Request for Spanish Club Summer 2020 Trip to Europe.
- J. Approve Trip Request for Honor Flight travel to Washington, DC 4/25-4/26/18.
- K. Accept the donation from the Knights of Columbus Tootsie Roll Program to the SpEd CoOp in the amount of \$1,634.72.

## 6. DISCUSSION OF ITEMS PULLED FROM CONSENT AGENDA

There were no items pulled from the consent agenda.

# 7. BOND CONSTRUCTION UPDATE (7:15 PM)

Brad Rice of Coonrod & Associates along with Dan Crouch & Carl Riblett of BBN presented updated bond projects status to the board.

#### 8. CENTRAL ELEMENTARY SCHEDULE CHANGE (7:54 PM)

Bruce Coleman made a motion to approve the addition of 10 minutes to the school day at Central Elementary for the remainder of the 17-18 school year to stay compliant with required annual minutes. Rob Pettay seconded. Motion carried 7-0.

Michele Johnson made a motion to approve the addition of five minutes to the school day for the 2018-2019 school year at Central Elementary. Cory Meyer seconded. Motion carried 7-0.

# 9. CO-OP TEACHER ADDITION FOR 2018-2019 (7:57 PM)

Nicolette Zeigler made a motion to approve the addition of a SpEd teacher beginning in the 18-19 school year as requested. Bruce Coleman seconded. Motion carried 7-0.

## 10. SRO DISCUSSION (8:02 PM)

Discussion occurred regarding safety and security plans for USD 320. Bruce Coleman made a motion to have Mr. Winter proceed with the process of contracting a SRO for USD 320 as requested. Rob Pettay seconded. Motion carried 7-0.

## 11. SUPERINTENDENT EVAL REVIEW FOR 3/26/18 (8:29 PM)

BOE President Ryan Hargitt reviewed the process for evaluating the performance of the superintendent scheduled to occur at the March 26 board meeting.

## 12. NEGOTIATIONS—NOTICE LETTER DUE/TRAINING REQUIREMENTS (8:31 PM)

Discussion occurred regarding the deadline for the notice letter to be send to the WTA for 18-19 negotiations (3/31/18). Members of the negotiations team discussed dates to complete their annual required training.

# 13. ADMINISTRATOR CONTRACTS (8:39 PM)

Rob Pettay made a motion to approve adding a year to the contracts of Tim Winter, Mary Kaye Siebert, Chris Cezar, Chad Brecheisen, Dennis Charbonneau, Brian McIntosh, Amy Flinn and Teri Dow to equal a two year contract. Sheryl Wohler seconded. Motion carried 7-0.

## 14. EXECUTIVE SESSION

There was no executive session.

## 15. ADJOURN MEETING (8:50 PM)

There being no further business, President Ryan Hargitt adjourned the meeting.

